The Great Devlicio.us Giveaway

So, I wrote an entry for The Great Devlicio.us Giveaway, and I won! My article will be posted on Friday (tomorrow) so check it out.

I won!  I won!

Thanks to the devlicio.us folks.  I am truly flattered, surprised, and happy to be getting some kickin’ prizes.

For what it’s worth, I really did make the jump to things ALT.NET while working on a new project, which I think made it much easier.  It’s hard to pick this stuff up without a real goal in mind.  For example, I’ve been trying to  become more dangerous with Ruby, but I just can’t make much of it stick b/c I have to make up my own things to write.  I think Ruby is very cool, and it’s really the only dynamic language that I’ve futzed with (someone say “F#”?) but all my “work” work is .NET, HTML, javascript, etc.

I don’t really consider myself part of the .NET elite, whoever that is.  I feel like I blue-collared my way onto the bus.  So, if you find yourself trying to make the jump and can’t get going, drop me a comment.  I can remember being there.  Actually, I am still there in many ways, which is why I am such a great candidate for continuous improvement.

Yay!

Zemanta Pixie
About Ruprict

I am a nerd that is a Nerd Wannabe. I have more kids than should be allowed by law, a lovely wife, and a different sense of humor than most. I work in the field of GIS, where I am still trying to find myself on the map. View all posts by Ruprict

2 responses to “The Great Devlicio.us Giveaway

  • tartley

    Hey Glenn,
    Congratulations, I love the article. There’s a comment over there too.

    Over here though, I wanted to say, if you’re interested in dynamic languages, but need to stay related to .NET, how about IronPython? As luck would have it, only last night I was drafting a ‘success story’ of my own, about our company’s use of it.

    It’s a reimplementation of Python, and it is, AFAIK, most mature of the Microsoft .NET dynamic languages, and I’ve been using it very happily indeed for the last two years.

    At first I was worried, both that Microsofts acquisition of the IronPython project might lead to it being stifled politically, or that the differences between IronPython and regular old CPython might prove intrusive or annoying in use. However, both these concerns have proven to be unfounded, as IronPython has increased in visibility and viability as time has gone on, until it is now somewhat of a flagship language for Microsoft’s new DLR.

    So it’s a full .NET language. You can call C# from it, or vice-versa, and the mapping of types (from python lists to .NET iterables, or lambdas to delegates) is absolutely seamless and transparent.

    The power and level of abstraction of Python is extremely productive, reducing the number of lines of code we need to express a given functionality. The dynamicness also makes implementing TDD much easier. Couple this with availability of the entire .NET class library, including the wonderful GUI stuff in System.Windows.Forms, and it makes for a powerful partership.

    I understand there are some wrinkles with using IronPython in Visual Studio – there is some plugin or somesuch you need to use, which isn’t completely seamless. We choose other IDEs so I can’t comment.

    The evolution of all programming languages has been a gradual migration to greater and greater dynamism. Get on board. It is the future. 🙂

    Jonathan

  • Ruprict

    ‘ello Tartley,

    It’s funny you mention the IronPython stuff, as I have had a little voice telling me to check on IronRuby. I need to do one of the two.

    I think the evolution of programming languages is leaning back to dynamism a ton right now, and will come back a bit as we dance around the right combination. I also find it funny how little publicity javascript gets as a dynamic language, since it is used so much…I think it has a chance to overtake all the dynamic languages. Things like SproutCore and AppJet could be tell-tale signs…..

    But I digress. Dynamic languages are the new black, so I need to really wrap my head around one of them….

    Ruprict

Leave a Reply

